Tuesday, 28 April 2009

Away from Swine Flu: Make a Health Presentation for Public


Human flu and bird flu are not foreign to us. Recently, we are experiencing a new epidemic - swine flu or swine influenza.


According to the report from BBC, swine flu is a respiratory disease that caused by influenza type A which infects pigs. The disease has many types and the infection is constantly changing. Although it has not normally infected humans until now, the latest form clearly does, and can be spread from person to person - probably through coughing and sneezing.


swine flu


Infection control experts are trying to respond to the current cases of swine flu in US and Mexico. What can we ordinaries do to fight against the dangerous disease? There are many effective measures to take, e.g. keeping clean, being away from such patients or getting a treat if infected. Another good idea is to play as a messenger, telling the harm of the crazy swine flu to those who are not aware of it. Here are some suggestions of sending your kind message.


Number one, make a health video presentation and put it on the Web.


If you are an enthusiast of public services, you can take the method. Compose the content of the swine flu with PowerPoint, a great tool to make your presentation professional looking. Remember to include concrete info on the disease, particularly on the danger and the measures. Then convert the health presentation to web-ready video with PowerPoint to Video Converter. That is because presentations in video are friendlier to a website than in PowerPoint itself. Finally, publish the health video to YouTube, MySpace, your blogs and podcasts.


Number two, create a DVD slideshow of swine flu and display to your audience.


It will apply well to families, schools and organizations, where exist a frequent exposure to public activities that may turn on a high risk to suffering swine flu. The little and the old, relatively weak in constitution, are more likely to suffer swine flu. Hence, it is very essential for those in charge of the above groups, e.g. parents, teachers and executives, to deliver an immediate presentation on the disease for prevention.


Use PowerPoint to organize your idea on the epidemic, for instance, add graphics and pictures to illustrate what is swine flu, how dangerous it is, what we can do to stay safe, etc. To play the health presentation on TV or another computer, save it to a DVD disc using PowerPoint to DVD Burner. Such conversion is necessary as PowerPoint is not support by TV and your PowerPoint presentation may encounter a version problem on a different computer. Last, share the DVD health slideshow with your family, students, or colleagues.


Swine flu itself is nothing to fear unless we have a complete control of it. We cannot control the disease before get a though idea of what it is. A health presentation is therefore worthy once we deliver it in time to whomever we love and care.




Technorati : , , ,

Thursday, 23 April 2009

Two Ways to Publish a PowerPoint Photo Album onto the Web


Source: PowerPoint Blog http://www.dvd-ppt-slideshow.com/blog/


There are two ways to publish your photo album in PowerPoint to the Web. See the details as following:


Method I Use the Save as Web Page in the PowerPoint


It is a straight way to make your photo album available to Web visitors. The method requires you to specify a Web server or other available computer when choosing a location for the file.


1. In the PowerPoint (default to 2003), open the photo album you want to publish to the Web.


2. On the File menu, select Save as Web Page.


3. Click Publish to enter the Publish as Web Page interface.


4. Under Publish what?, click Complete presentation.


publish as web


Then do any of the following:


o To set additional Web page formatting and display options, click Web Options, select the options you want, and then click OK.


o To optimize for a particular browser or browser version, under Browser support, select an option.


o To set the page title bar text for your Web page, under Publish a copy as, click Change, type the text in the Page title box, and then click OK.


5. Under Publish a copy as, click Browse, select a location from the folder list, type a name for the Web page in the File name box, select Web page in the Save as type box, and then click OK.


6. Last, click the Publish button.


Note: To immediately see how your photo album looks in your browser after you publish it to the Web, select the Open published Web page in browser check box in the Publish as Web Page dialog box.


Method II Make your photo album into web-ready video


It is a cool choice to do so especially when your photo album is of shining animations and background sounds. It is obvious that a simple Save as Web Page function is not enough to keep such subtlety of your presentation work. Now, you can choose this method as a workaround, i.e. to convert the photo album presentation to video slideshow for Web.
The conversion couldn't be easier with PowerPoint to Video converter. Add your photo album file into the software, set the output to .avi, .wmv, .flv or else, and click Start to convert to video photo slideshow.


PowerPoint to video convert PowerPoint photo album to web-ready video


Then you can upload and publish the video photo album onto the website as you like.




Technorati : ,

Wednesday, 22 April 2009

Embed a flash video into PowerPoint & convert PPT presentation to FLV format


More often than not, PowerPoint users are confronted with these two problems - the failure in embedding an .flv file into a presentation, and the trouble of showing the PowerPoint content on YouTube or MySpace. Let's go through both the problems one by one.


Part I: Embed a flash video into PowerPoint presentation


Blind to FLV (Flash Video) files, however, MS PowerPoint shakes his natural disapproval of flash video embedding. For that reason, it is impossible to embed a flash video into a presentation unless converted to .mpeg, .avi, .wmv or else video format that PowerPoint can recognize.


To adjust your flash video to an appropriate format for PowerPoint, follow the four methods for four different cases as listed below:


Case 1 Flash video from YouTube or MySpace


If the flash video to insert into you PowerPoint presentation comes from YouTube or MySpace, then do the following:


First, copy the video URL on YouTube or MySpace to a notepad.


YouTube video URL


Second, go to http://vixy.net , a FREE online video conversion service. Paste the flash video URL into the URL field. Then select AVI, MOV or MP4 as the output format in the Converts to dropdown list.


vixy flv video conversion


Click the Start button to start converting. When the conversion completes, download the output video to your local drive.
OK, you can insert the video to a PowerPoint presentation. Simply go to PowerPoint -> Insert-> Movies and Sounds->Movies from File


Case 2 Flash video on your computer


If the selected flash video is one of your local favorites, then go to the site http://media-convert.com/convert/ and follow these steps:


1. Click Browse to pick from your local drive the FLV file to be converted.


media converter


2. Select a proper output format like WMV and click OK on the right to start processing.


3. After the conversion, download the output video back to your local computer.


Now it is a piece of cake to embed the converted "flash video" to your PowerPoint presentation. Similar to the insertion in Case 1.


Case 3 Fast and batch conversion of Flash videos


If over one FLV files are to use in a PowerPoint presentation, then you can take a standalone video converter to save time. Search one by Google or simply take this FLV Video Converter. Remember to try before you buy any of those video converters.


Part II: Convert PowerPoint presentation to FLV format


Now and then, you want to show a sparkly presentation on YouTube or MySpace, or send it to a friend afar. It's a cinch with Moyea PPT to FLV Converter. The reliable PowerPoint to flash video converter proves to be a great help in adjusting your presentation to web-ready FLV format.


Only in 3 clicks can it create a wonderful flash video out of your PPT file.


Step 1 Install and run Moyea PPT to FLV Converter on your computer.
Step 2 Import a PowerPoint file you want to convert and set the output style as Flash Video.
Step 3 Click Start to begin converting to FLV.


For more details of converting with Moyea PPT to FLV Converter, refer to Tutorial of Converting PowerPoint to Flash Video




Technorati : , ,

Tuesday, 21 April 2009

Free PowerPoint Backgrounds Download


If you're looking for free PowerPoint Backgrounds, you came to the right place. We have a great collection of backgrounds, templates, and more inspirational free stuff to build stunning presentations. All themes design are free to download and includes 2 or more slides ready-to-use. Download, unzip and take full control over your PowerPoint presentations.



  • free PowerPoint background

  • free PowerPoint background




Free PowerPoint Backgrounds Download download free PowerPoint backgrounds: http://www.dvd-ppt-slideshow.com/powerpoint-background/



Technorati :

Friday, 17 April 2009

PowerPoint to DVD: Ward off the Version Trouble of Your PowerPoint Presentation

It's all right to run and save your PowerPoint presentations on your own PC. It's better, however, to burn these presentations onto DVD discs with PowerPoint to DVD Burner to avoid the PowerPoint version problem.

Why?
Believe it or not, your PowerPoint presentation is for public use rather than personal fun at most of the time. You may make a presentation for classes, meetings, or sales promotion that is expected to be shown and shared elsewhere. As a result, it is required that no incompatibility exists between the PowerPoint version on the targeted computer and that on your source OS.

Before saving it on a USB stick as it is, you should therefore take concerns on PowerPoint delivery - the version problem. Not every computer is installed with the same version of PowerPoint as yours. For example, if your presentation is made of PowerPoint 2007, the more advanced version, how will you take it to display in full play in an older version such as 2003? More complex is the cross-platform problem. What would it be like if you are trying to connect your PowerPoint presentation from MS Windows to a different operating system like Macintosh? It is also what you should pay attention to when preparing a presentation.

How?
The way to bridge the gap between two different PowerPoint versions may vary. One shortcut should be saving it on a portable DVD disc with PowerPoint to DVD burner. Note that the program only applies to Microsoft PowerPoint 2002/2003/2007, supported by the MS Windows OS.

The conversion software is born to bring easy access to your PowerPoint presentation anywhere by converting it to DVD or video format. All you need to do is to import your presentation into the software program, select an output format (Standard, HD DVD or Video) and leave the rest work to it alone.

An addition to the functionality is, the software is able to retain all the animations and wipes from the source PowerPoint. You will never worry about any loss of effect. You can also take advantage of the feature of custom DVD menus as you expect in the output setting.

Once burned to a DVD disc, your presentation will play nice on any computer regardless of different PowerPoint versions, including Macintosh versions. So will it do on a big-screen TV with a DVD player.

Except the mentioned PowerPoint to DVD solution, still there are some general tips that you can follow to view a PowerPoint presentation in different platforms:

1. Make it simple. You'd better apply PowerPoint's drawing tools to create shapes and drawings instead of using content from a third-party application.

2. Use industry-standard or less platform-specific media formats. Use MPEG videos and DRM-free MP3 sounds for inserting into your PowerPoint presentation.

3. Use standardized fonts applied to both Windows and Mac, including Arial, Times New Roman, Courier New, Verdana, Tahoma, Trebuchet MS, etc.

4. Avoid using PICT graphics on the Mac OS. For both platforms, GIF, PNG, and JPG graphic files work best. For illustrations, use WMF or EMF files.

5. Don't space your text too tightly. Font rendering differences may add an extra line to a text box on either Windows or Mac versions of PowerPoint.

6. Last but not least, keep in mind that some features don't work on either platform. Mac versions of PowerPoint (MS PowerPoint 2004/2008) still don't have motion path or trigger animations, although they can show you motion path animations in presentations created on Windows.

Thursday, 16 April 2009

YouTube and PowerPoint: Embed YouTube video into PowerPoint & Put PowerPoint presentation onto YouTube


As one of the largest websites, YouTube is now the first place on the Internet to find various news videos and clips, and has proved to be a wonderful reservoir of valuable videos at this media-saturated era.


Have you ever thought of downloading a YouTube video to embed in your PowerPoint presentation, or uploading a PowerPoint-based video to YouTube for the world to share? I dare say most of you have. Here, I will give a two-way introduction to how to make an interactive use of YouTube and PowerPoint.


Section I


question-mark How to embed YouTube videos into the PowerPoint presentations?


An embedded video relevant to your subject is no doubt a great credit to your PowerPoint presentation, which not only makes you seem more professional but adds fun to capture the audience.


To get a YouTube video embedded in your PPT presentation, you can take either of these methods:


Method 1 Copy the Embed code of the YouTube video into PowerPoint presentation


It is the most straightforward among all the methods of putting a YouTube video into PowerPoint. Note that you should ensure that you have the latest Adobe Flash Player installed on your computer prior to this method.


Simply copy the Embed code of the YouTube video (as seen in "Embedded" field) that you want to use for your presentation and save it on a notepad.


In the PowerPoint file, go to the Developer ribbon and click the "More Controls…" icon.


more controls


In the prompt-up More Controls dialog, choose the option Shockwave Flash Object and click OK.


Shockwave Flash Object


Next, go to the slide with the Shockwave Flash Object box, and right click the cross-lined box to select the Properties option. Then copy the video embed code from the notepad and enter it into the Value column of the Movie item in the Properties interface. That's it!


For more details of this YouTube into PowerPoint method, refer to the very tip How to Play YouTube Video in PowerPoint Presentations


IMPORTANT: The URL insertion is subject to Internet connection. In another word, the embedded YouTube video would not play in your presentation should your computer be out of Web connection.


Method 2 Convert YouTube videos to compatible MPEG, AVI, MOV or WMV for PowerPoint


As YouTube videos are encoded in FLV, a format that is not accepted by MS PowerPoint, they must be converted to a PowerPoint-compatible format like MPEG, AVI, MOV or WMV prior to inserting.


In this method, what you need is something like a video converter to convert FLV to WMV or other PowerPoint supported video formats. You can find a sea of such software apps, e.g. YouTube downloader and Online FLV Converter, most of which are free. These software programs usually work similar in principle. First you have to download and install such a converter, then copy the YouTube video URL to the related field of the converter for download. After the video file is downloaded, use the converter again to select an appropriate video format that you want to convert to. Finally, save the converted video file to you local drive, and then embed the YouTube video into your PowerPoint presentation.


The method require a third-party medium, yet it is not bad a choice in case of the network trouble.


Section II


question-markHow to convert PowerPoint presentations to YouTube videos?


In Section I, we have mentioned how to embed a YouTube video into PowerPoint presentations. Now, we are to introduce the other side of the coin: how to convert a delicate PPT file to FLV (Flash Video) for showing on YouTube.


PowerPoint presentations including a rich collection of animations are also excellent source of a vivid video. To create a video out of PowerPoint is of less cost and of more fun than of a digital camera. Here follows two major ways of converting a PPT presentation to YouTube video.


(i) Free Windows Movie Maker


It is a free video creating program developed by Microsoft for Windows. To make a movie with the software, you have to first save your presentation as a pile of JEPG pictures, and then input the picture album to the movie maker. Although sounds are allowed to add in for a dynamic effect, there's an obvious fault in the free program - it is unable to retain the full animations from the original presentation.


(ii) Moyea PPT to Video Converter


This is a smart solution for converting PowerPoint presentations to any format of video, no except to the popular YouTube video. Most of all, it is able to preserve every subtlety of your PowerPoint presentation in the YouTube video, just at an affordable $49.95.


There are two tutorials on the PowerPoint to YouTube video converter. Click to have a look at:


video button Video Tutorial of Converting PowerPoint Presentation to YouTube Video


document icon Documental Tutorial of Converting PowerPoint Presentation to YouTube Video


After conversion, you will find it a cinch to watch and share your PowerPoint slideshow on YouTube.


Enjoy the amusement of flexible conversion between the magnificent PowerPoint slideshow and YouTube video.




Technorati : ,


How to Recover a Corrupt PowerPoint File?


This article is excerpted from "Recovering a corrupt PowerPoint file" by Echo Swinford.


Supports MS PowerPoint 2000, 2002, 2003


You've worked hard on your presentation, but when you try to open it, you receive an error message, "PowerPoint cannot open the type of file represented by filename.ppt". This is the classic sign of a corrupt presentation, but don't panic yet - you may be able to get at least some of the file back.


Is it a password-protected file?


Before you determine that your file is indeed corrupt, first find out if a password was added to it in PowerPoint 2002 (also known as PowerPoint XP) or PowerPoint 2003. If the file does have a password and you are trying to open it by using a previous version of PowerPoint, you will receive this error. Ask the person who created the file to resave it without the password, or use the PowerPoint 2003 Viewer to view the presentation.


Was the file sent to you as an e-mail attachment?


If you received the file as an e-mail attachment, it may have become corrupted as it traveled through cyberspace. Ask the sender to zip the file by using Microsoft Windows® XP's built-in zip function or a program such as WinZip, and then resend. Or have them upload the file to a File Transfer Protocol (FTP) site, if you have one available.


Are you using PowerPoint 2003 to open a presentation created in a previous version of PowerPoint?


If you are using PowerPoint 2003 and have problems opening files created in previous versions of PowerPoint, click Check for Updates on the Help menu, and then install the Critical Update for PowerPoint 2003. If you want to know why you need this Critical Update, see this Office 2003 Critical Update overview


Nope, the file is really corrupt


If your file is truly corrupt, there are a number of things you can try to recover it.
• Use Slides from Files on the Insert menu.
• Locate a TMP file.
• Open the presentation in Microsoft Office Word.
• Move the file to a different place.
• Open the file in a different way.
• Use Safe Mode.
• Use Damaged Presentations Troubleshooters.
• Try a third-party recovery tool.


Use Slides from Files on the Insert menu


Sometimes you can recover some or all of a corrupt presentation by clicking Slides from Files on the Insert menu. Use the following steps:
1. Open a new blank presentation.
2. On the Insert menu, click Slides from Files.
3. In the Slide Finder dialog box, browse to your corrupt file.
4. Click Insert All.


If clicking Insert All doesn't work, try clicking Insert to insert individual slides.


Note If your corrupt slides do insert, they will take on the blank presentation formatting. You can apply the original design template to correct this. You can experiment by selecting the Keep source formatting check box in the Slide Finder dialog box if you want. The real goal, though, is to get your information back. You can reformat it if necessary.


Locate a TMP file


Occasionally when you lose your file, there will be a TMP file available. This usually only happens when you lose the file while saving, or if you were working on it when PowerPoint or Windows crashed. Nevertheless, it's worth checking.
1. Right-click the Windows Start button, and then click Search.
2. In the All or part of the file name box, type *.TMP.
3. In the Look in list, click either Local Hard Drives, or even My Computer.
4. Click Search.
5. After Windows finds your TMP files, click the Date Modified button at the top of the Search Results pane. You might have to scroll to the right to see this button.
6. Look for a TMP file created around the time that you lost your PowerPoint file. Note the folder it's in.
7. Open PowerPoint, and then click Open on the File menu.
8. Click the arrow next to the Files of Type box at the bottom of that dialog box, and then click All Files.
9. Navigate to the folder where the TMP file is located.
10. Click the TMP file, and then click Open.


Open the presentation in Word


You may be able to recover at least part of your text this way.
1. Open Word.
2. On the File menu, click Open.
3. In the Open dialog box, click the arrow next to the Files of Type box at the bottom of that dialog box, and then click Recover Text From Any File.
4. Navigate to your corrupt file, select it, and then click Open.


Don't forget to reset your Files of Type option in the Open dialog box back to All Word Documents after you finish, or you may see strange things happen when you subsequently open Word documents. If you are able to recover your text in Word, you can move the text back into PowerPoint by clicking File, pointing to Send To, and then clicking Microsoft Office PowerPoint.


Spend some time with the styles in Word so that the text ends up where you want it in PowerPoint. All text formatted Heading 1 will become slide Title text in PowerPoint. Heading 2 style will become primary bulleted text. Heading 3 will become secondary bulleted text.


Move the file to a different place


• If you're trying to open the file from removable media (a floppy disk, a Zip or Jaz drive, a USB drive, a CD-ROM, a network server, or a shared drive), try copying the presentation to your hard drive, and then try to open it.
• Try copying the file to a different computer's hard drive, and then try to open it there.
• Try copying the file to a different drive on your computer (for instance, if it's on the C drive, copy it to the G drive), and then open it from there.


Open the file in a different way


There are a few things to try here. I personally haven't had much luck recovering a truly corrupt file by opening it in a different manner, but it doesn't hurt to try.
1. Click Open on the File menu in PowerPoint.
2. Double-click the PowerPoint file in Windows Explorer.
3. Drag the corrupt file to the PowerPoint program file (POWERPNT.exe).
4. Open the file by using one of the PowerPoint Viewers. (Of course, this won't help much if you need to do more than view the presentation. You should be able to at least print it from the Viewer, though.)


PowerPoint 2003 Viewer
PowerPoint 97 Viewer


Use Safe Mode


Try opening PowerPoint in Safe Mode and see if that enables you to open the file.
1. In Windows, click Start, click Run, and then type C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office10\Powerpnt.exe" /safe in the Open box.
2. Insert the appropriate path for your version of PowerPoint.


Try opening Windows in Safe Mode.
1. Click Start, click either Turn Off Computer or Shut Down, and then choose Restart.
2. When your computer restarts, press and hold down the appropriate "F" function key to restart in Safe Mode. F8 is often the key to use.
3. Open PowerPoint, and then try to open your presentation.


These techniques are the least likely to work, but they're worth trying. Usually if a presentation opens when in PowerPoint or Windows Safe Mode, it's because of a conflict with a driver or an add-in. You may also want to run a ScanDisk and use the Error-checking options on its Tools menu.


Try a third-party recovery tool


Because other products do not include all of PowerPoint's functionality, or might not support elements of that functionality in their import utilities, you can sometimes use them to open files that PowerPoint identifies as corrupt.


Although you probably won't recover everything in your presentation, if you don't have any luck using any of the previous methods, you might want to consider a third-party recovery tool.


For a detailed discussion of third-party recovery tools, see the full text of this article on EchosVoice.


Editor's Review:
Echo gives a detailed description of how to recover a corrupt PowerPoint file. Very helpful. But if only you have had a backup copy of your presentation, saving it on a USB stick or in protective DVD format (just with a reliable PowerPoint to DVD converter, a considerate solution to clone your PowerPoint presentation onto DVD discfor delivery and protection), such a corrupt issue would never come to bother you.




Technorati : ,